Monday, September 25, 2023
Google search engine
HomePoliticsAnother Wonder In Parliament As NDC Votes For Nana Addo's Nominees

Another Wonder In Parliament As NDC Votes For Nana Addo’s Nominees

The six cabinet nominations put up by President Akufo-Addo have finally been approved by Parliament following hours of debate and a brief suspension.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Kobina Tahir Hammond, an Adansi Asokwa MP, has been selected to lead the Ministry of Trade and Industry, and Dr. Stephen Amoah has been named as the ministry’s deputy.

Both Brian Acheampong, a member of parliament for Abetifi, and Mohammed Amin Adam, a member of parliament for Karaga, have been appointed as ministers of food and agriculture, respectively.

The new Minister for Religious and Chieftaincy Affairs is Stephen Asamoah Boateng, while the Minister of State for Local Government and Rural Development is Mr. Osei Bonsu Amoah.

Mr. KT Hammond received 154 votes in favor of his proposal, while just 116 people opposed it. Dr. Stephen Amoah passed the approval stage with 146 votes against 123 NO votes.

Moreover, Brian Acheampong was authorized with 167 YES votes. Amin Adam received 152 yes votes, while O.B. Amoah received 149.

In the midst of various complaints that caused the sitting to be temporarily suspended on Friday, the ministers-designate were authorized.

The Minority said they wanted the voting to go forward and damn the consequences, while the Majority members feared they might not have the necessary numbers to confirm President Akufo-choices. Addo’s


The Minority insisted throughout the suspension that they would reject each and every cabinet nominee.

Three parliamentarians, meanwhile, did not participate in the vote procedure.

The absent lawmakers were James Gyakye Quayson, the NDC’s Assin North representative, Sarah Adwoa Safo, the NPP’s Dome Kwabenya, and Basoah Phillip, the Kumawu representative (NPP).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments